locked unlocked translate search
Home Page

St Thomas More Catholic Primary School

Inspiration, Celebration and Education

Parent Guide to EYES

The Early Years Foundation Stage is a framework that sets the standards for the development and care of children from 0-5 years old and all early years settings must follow it.


There are 3 main sections in the Early Years Foundation Stage these are:

The Learning and Development Requirements

This section includes what settings must do, working in partnership with parents and/or carers, to promote the learning and development of all children in their care, and to ensure they are ready for school. It stipulates that children must be encouraged to make progress in the 7 areas of learning. (See below)


This plays an important part in helping parents, carers and practitioners to recognise children’s progress, understand their needs, and to plan activities and support.


Practitioners are required to carry out on-going (summative) assessments through observing children. Each term parents are invited into the nursery to meet with their child’s key person to go through the summative assessments and to highlight next steps in their child’s learning.


  We observe all children on a regular basis and this can be accessed through Tapestry Online Learning.  Each parent will be given a secure unique password so they can view photos of their child whilst at play and see how this links into their learning.


  You can also upload your own photos of children at home, so we can share this with their peers.  Reports which are undertaken, are the 2 year old checks, which ensure that children are developing with age related expectations and also transition records which are passed onto school or another nursery when your child leaves us.

The Safeguarding and Welfare Requirements 

These stipulate what settings must do to ensure the safety and welfare of all children.  It includes things like maintaining staff:child ratio and having rigid safeguarding policies in place.


Personal, Social and Emotional
This is split into 3 different aspects:

– Making Relationships
– Self-Confidence and Self-Awareness
– Managing Feelings and Behaviour


Communication and Language
This is split into 3 different aspects:

– Listening and Attention
– Understanding
– Speaking


Physical Development
This is split into 2 different aspects:

– Moving and Handling
– Health and Self Care


This is split into 2 different aspects:



This is split into 2 different aspects:

– Numbers
– Shape, Space and Measure


Understanding the World
This is split into 3 different aspects:

– People and Communities
– World


Expressive Art and Design 
This is split into 2 different aspects:

– Exploring Media and Materials
– Being Imaginative